S

11 Epic Books with Equally Epic Adaptations

o-brother-epic

The Spoils of Babylon—penned by the Master of Dramatic Fiction, Eric Jonrosh—is one of the most epic novels ever written. That’s why adapting it to television was no small feat. Thankfully, with Jonrosh’s involvement, and the participation of an all-star cast, the impossible dream comes true on Thursday, Jan. 9 at 10/9c. To help hold you over, here are 11 more epic book-to-screen adaptations.

11. The Lord of the Rings

J.R.R. Tolkien’s work is the default thing everybody thinks of when they hear the word “epic,” so stop using it to describe your lunch.


10. Harry Potter

Eight movies based on seven J.K. Rowling books, spanning the entire adolescence of a group of children. That counts as epic.


9. The Hunger Games

It may be part Battle Royale and part Running Man, but it’s all Katniss in an apocalyptic nightmare landscape struggling against entrenched power in Suzanne Collins’ dark young adult novels.


8. The Odyssey

For O Brother, Where Art Thou? – a Depression-era comedy classic – the Coen Brothers drew inspiration from The Odyssey, an epic Greek poem by Homer.

Pages: 1 2 3

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations 11 Epic Books with Equally Epic Adaptations type:title title:11-epic-books-with-equally-epic-adaptations articles type:post-type post-type:articles ahunsaker type:author author:ahunsaker Features type:category category:features Lists category:lists Movies category:movies adaptations type:post-tag post-tag:adaptations Books post-tag:books Fight Club post-tag:fight-club Gone With the Wind post-tag:gone-with-the-wind Harry Potter post-tag:harry-potter James Bond post-tag:james-bond lists post-tag:lists Lord of the Rings post-tag:lord-of-the-rings post-tag:movies Roots post-tag:roots The Godfather post-tag:the-godfather The Hunger Games post-tag:the-hunger-games The Wizard of Oz post-tag:the-wizard-of-oz The Spoils of Babylon type:show show:the-spoils-of-babylon the-spoils-of-babylon type:primary-category primary-category:the-spoils-of-babylon /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5085/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5085-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-spoils-of-babylon/blog/2014/01/11-epic-books-with-epic-adaptations 11 Epic Books with Equally Epic Adaptations type:title title:11-epic-books-with-equally-epic-adaptations articles type:post-type post-type:articles ahunsaker type:author author:ahunsaker Features type:category category:features Lists category:lists Movies category:movies adaptations type:post-tag post-tag:adaptations Books post-tag:books Fight Club post-tag:fight-club Gone With the Wind post-tag:gone-with-the-wind Harry Potter post-tag:harry-potter James Bond post-tag:james-bond lists post-tag:lists Lord of the Rings post-tag:lord-of-the-rings post-tag:movies Roots post-tag:roots The Godfather post-tag:the-godfather The Hunger Games post-tag:the-hunger-games The Wizard of Oz post-tag:the-wizard-of-oz The Spoils of Babylon type:show show:the-spoils-of-babylon the-spoils-of-babylon type:primary-category primary-category:the-spoils-of-babylon /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5085/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5085-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.