S
jackass-stunts-list 7 Most Legendary Jackass Stunts of All Time bill-burr-advice 9 Things That Seriously Tick Off Bill Burr marc-maron-seth-meyers Marc Maron Talks About Fueling His Rage on Late Night tacky-weird-al Weird Al’s “Tacky” Is the Song of the Summer

Getting to know “The Birthday Boys”

birthday-boys-bob-odenkirk-ifc

Bob Odenkirk and Ben Stiller are helping bring The Birthday Boys to IFC

As you may have head, IFC recently greenlit ten half-hour episodes of “The Birthday Boys,” a new scripted original sketch comedy, which is executive produced by Bob Odenkirk (“Breaking Bad,” “Mr. Show”) and Ben Stiller (The upcoming “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty,” “Zoolander”). The series is in the classic vein of absurd/silly/smart/funny variety shows like two of our favorites “Mr. Show” and “Monty Python.” Each episode will feature sketches that twist real-life moments and cultural touchstones.“The Birthday Boys are too good to just be making viral videos. They are funny enough to fill time between episodes of Portlandia,” said Ben Stiller. “I’m thrilled to be working with Bob Odenkirk again on a TV project. We try to do something every 20 years or so.” Sounds good right?

But who are The Birthday Boys? Along with Odenkirk, cast of “The Birthday Boys” are a Los Angeles comedy group who just so happens to have the exact same name as the show. The comedy group includes Jefferson Dutton, Dave Ferguson, Mike Hanford, Tim Kalpakis, Matt Kowalick, Mike Mitchell and Chris VanArtsdalen—whose combined credits include “Parks and Recreation”, “The Office,” “Conan,” “Comedy Bang! Bang!”, and “Portlandia.” You can catch their act at places like the UCB Theatre Los Angeles and the Just for Laughs Festival. The series is written and co-directed by The Birthday Boys and Bob Odenkirk and with that much talent involved there’s no way the show won’t be laugh-out-loud funny and fit right in with our ever-growing line-up of “Always On, Slightly Off” programming. Added Odenkirk, “The Birthday Boys are a super funny and fresh new comic voice. I will try not to slow them down.”

To give you some idea what the group does, here are a few of our favorite selections from their YouTube channel:

Where Are They Now?

Pooljumpers

Outside The Actor’s Studio

Horny Beach, episode 1 (You should watch the entire series)

Ham Hat

Ham Hat – watch more funny videos

Want the latest news from IFC? Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter@IFC

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys Getting to know “The Birthday Boys” type:title title:getting-to-know-8220-the-birthday-boys-8221 articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker Comedy type:category category:comedy Ben Stiller type:post-tag post-tag:ben-stiller Bob Odenkirk post-tag:bob-odenkirk Chris VanArtsdalen post-tag:chris-vanartsdalen post-tag:comedy Coming Soon to IFC post-tag:coming-soon-to-ifc Dave Ferguson post-tag:dave-ferguson Jefferson Dutton post-tag:jefferson-dutton Matt Kowalick post-tag:matt-kowalick Mike Hanford post-tag:mike-hanford Mike Mitchell post-tag:mike-mitchell The Birthday Boys post-tag:the-birthday-boys Tim Kalpakis post-tag:tim-kalpakis type:show show:the-birthday-boys the-birthday-boys type:primary-category primary-category:the-birthday-boys /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4724/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4724-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/getting-to-know-the-birthday-boys Getting to know “The Birthday Boys” type:title title:getting-to-know-8220-the-birthday-boys-8221 articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker Comedy type:category category:comedy Ben Stiller type:post-tag post-tag:ben-stiller Bob Odenkirk post-tag:bob-odenkirk Chris VanArtsdalen post-tag:chris-vanartsdalen post-tag:comedy Coming Soon to IFC post-tag:coming-soon-to-ifc Dave Ferguson post-tag:dave-ferguson Jefferson Dutton post-tag:jefferson-dutton Matt Kowalick post-tag:matt-kowalick Mike Hanford post-tag:mike-hanford Mike Mitchell post-tag:mike-mitchell The Birthday Boys post-tag:the-birthday-boys Tim Kalpakis post-tag:tim-kalpakis type:show show:the-birthday-boys the-birthday-boys type:primary-category primary-category:the-birthday-boys /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4724/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4724-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.