S

The Birthday Boys

FRIDAYS 11:30P, STARTS OCT 17

Watch as Bob Odenkirk and The Birthday Boys accept IFC’s offer

bob-odenkirk-birthday-boy-announcement

Ben Stiller and Bob Odenkirk are the executive producers of The Birthday Boys, which premieres on IFC this fall

Bob Odenkirk may not be a real lawyer, but he plays a great one on TV, on “Breaking Bad,” specifically. So when the Birthday Boys needed someone to formally accept the terms of our offer to broadcast ten episodes of their new sketch comedy show, “The Birthday Boys,” obviously they went straight for Saul …er, Bob Odenkirk.

The choice of representative makes even more sense, because Odenkirk is the executive producer of the new scripted sketch comedy, along with Ben Stiller. The Birthday Boys features the Los Angeles comedy group of the same name (UCB Theatre Los Angeles, Just for Laughs Festival) along with Odenkirk. The series is in the classic vein of absurd/silly/smart/funny variety shows (Mr. Show, Monty Python), featuring sketches that twist real-life moments and cultural touchstones.

“The Birthday Boys are too good to just be making viral videos. They are funny enough to fill time between episodes of Portlandia,” said Ben Stiller. “I’m thrilled to be working with Bob Odenkirk again on a TV project. We try to do something every 20 years or so.” Added Bob Odenkirk, “The Birthday Boys are a super funny and fresh new comic voice. I will try not to slow them down.”

The Birthday Boys comedy group includes Jefferson Dutton, Dave Ferguson, Mike Hanford, Tim Kalpakis, Matt Kowalick, Mike Mitchell and Chris VanArtsdalen—whose combined credits include “Parks and Recreation”, “The Office,” “Conan,” “Comedy Bang! Bang!”, and “Portlandia.” The series is written and co-directed by The Birthday Boys and Bob Odenkirk and with that much talent involved there’s no way the show won’t be laugh-out-loud funny and fit right in with our ever-growing line-up of “Always On, Slightly Off” programming.

Watch as Bob Odenkirk announces the terms of The Birthday Boys’ agreement:

Want the latest news from IFC? Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @IFC

“The Birthday Boys” premiere on IFC this fall

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys Watch as Bob Odenkirk and The Birthday Boys accept IFC’s offer type:title title:watch-as-bob-odenkirk-and-the-birthday-boys-accept-ifc-8217-s-offer articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc Ben Stiller type:post-tag post-tag:ben-stiller Birthday Boys post-tag:birthday-boys Bob Odenkirk post-tag:bob-odenkirk Comedy post-tag:comedy Coming Soon to IFC post-tag:coming-soon-to-ifc Dave Ferguson post-tag:dave-ferguson Jefferson Dutton post-tag:jefferson-dutton Matt Kowalick post-tag:matt-kowalick Mike Hanford post-tag:mike-hanford Mike Mitchell and Chris VanArtsdalen post-tag:mike-mitchell-and-chris-vanartsdalen Sketch Comedy post-tag:sketch-comedy Tim Kalpakis post-tag:tim-kalpakis The Birthday Boys type:show show:the-birthday-boys the-birthday-boys type:primary-category primary-category:the-birthday-boys /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4807/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4807-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/shows/the-birthday-boys/blog/2013/04/bob-odenkirk-said-we-could-introduce-the-birthday-boys Watch as Bob Odenkirk and The Birthday Boys accept IFC’s offer type:title title:watch-as-bob-odenkirk-and-the-birthday-boys-accept-ifc-8217-s-offer articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc Ben Stiller type:post-tag post-tag:ben-stiller Birthday Boys post-tag:birthday-boys Bob Odenkirk post-tag:bob-odenkirk Comedy post-tag:comedy Coming Soon to IFC post-tag:coming-soon-to-ifc Dave Ferguson post-tag:dave-ferguson Jefferson Dutton post-tag:jefferson-dutton Matt Kowalick post-tag:matt-kowalick Mike Hanford post-tag:mike-hanford Mike Mitchell and Chris VanArtsdalen post-tag:mike-mitchell-and-chris-vanartsdalen Sketch Comedy post-tag:sketch-comedy Tim Kalpakis post-tag:tim-kalpakis The Birthday Boys type:show show:the-birthday-boys the-birthday-boys type:primary-category primary-category:the-birthday-boys /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4807/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4807-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.