S

12 Must-Read Books by Comedians

comedian-books-list

Photo courtesy Splash News/Splash News/Corbis

Catch David Cross on Maron this Thursday 10p.

The best comedians are the ones who write their own material. However, not all great comedy can fit in a comic’s limited amount of stage time. So here are 12 essential books written by comedians, in no particular order. You’re going to want to read these.

12. America: The Book by writers of The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

This extremely dense tome in school textbook form, released in 2004, was a brilliant way to satirize the American educational system as much as the show itself does for the media.


11. I Drink for a Reason by David Cross

This 2009 book collected some of Cross’ writings in other media as well as a heady mix of fake memoirs and real ones, including this heartfelt examination of a devastating breakup.


10. Sleepwalk With Me & Other Painfully True Stories by Mike Birbiglia

The lovably weird Birbigs turned his somnambulism affliction and relationship problems into a passion project, including a one-man show, a memoir and a critically-acclaimed indie film.


9. Zombie Spaceship Wasteland by Patton Oswalt

If any comic needed to write a book, it’s Oswalt, a man who thrives on interesting wordplay and literary references, and his memoir is a deep-dive into his life of stifling suburbia giving way to pop culture obsessions and irrepressible creativity.


8. American on Purpose by Craig Ferguson

The self-proclaimed “late night talk show douche” may not be a late night talk show douche for much longer, but this book – a moving recollection of his devastating addiction issues, and the one time he forgot to commit suicide – proves that he’s got a lot more going for him than your average late night talk show douche.


7. The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption and Pee by Sarah Silverman

Silverman’s confession that she chronically wet her bed until her mid-teens casts a new light on her scatological obsessions, and her book recounts her struggles with that as well as the goofiness of her family.

Pages: 1 2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians 12 Must-Read Books by Comedians type:title title:12-must-read-books-by-comedians articles type:post-type post-type:articles ahunsaker type:author author:ahunsaker Comedy type:category category:comedy Features category:features Lists category:lists Craig Ferguson type:post-tag post-tag:craig-ferguson David Cross post-tag:david-cross D’Militant post-tag:d-militant George Carlin post-tag:george-carlin Jim Gaffigan post-tag:jim-gaffigan Jon Stewart post-tag:jon-stewart lists post-tag:lists Marc Maron post-tag:marc-maron Mike Birbiglia post-tag:mike-birbiglia Patton Oswalt post-tag:patton-oswalt Sarah Silverman post-tag:sarah-silverman Steve Martin post-tag:steve-martin Tina Fey post-tag:tina-fey Maron type:show show:maron maron type:primary-category primary-category:maron /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4807/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4807-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/essential-books-by-comedians 12 Must-Read Books by Comedians type:title title:12-must-read-books-by-comedians articles type:post-type post-type:articles ahunsaker type:author author:ahunsaker Comedy type:category category:comedy Features category:features Lists category:lists Craig Ferguson type:post-tag post-tag:craig-ferguson David Cross post-tag:david-cross D’Militant post-tag:d-militant George Carlin post-tag:george-carlin Jim Gaffigan post-tag:jim-gaffigan Jon Stewart post-tag:jon-stewart lists post-tag:lists Marc Maron post-tag:marc-maron Mike Birbiglia post-tag:mike-birbiglia Patton Oswalt post-tag:patton-oswalt Sarah Silverman post-tag:sarah-silverman Steve Martin post-tag:steve-martin Tina Fey post-tag:tina-fey Maron type:show show:maron maron type:primary-category primary-category:maron /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4807/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4807-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.