S

7 Comedy Albums That Will Change Your Life (for at Least 20-30 Minutes)

tig-album-list

Photo courtesy tignation.com

Catch Tig Notaro on Maron this Thursday 10p.

Comedy is more than just a distraction – when it’s at its best, it is thought-provoking, perspective-shifting therapy. Here, in no particular order, are 7 comedy albums with the power to change lives – for at least a half hour or so.

7. Bill Hicks – Relentless

Hicks’ weird blend of bleak, angrier-than-thou nihilism and wide-eyed, hallucinogen-induced appreciation of human potential led to seriously ground-breaking material.


6. George Carlin – Jammin’ in New York

Carlin cited this as his personal favorite of his albums, because it completely changed the game for his own career, as he became the fully formed version of latter-day Angry George with his unique “the planet is fine, the people are fucked” philosophy.


5. Chris Rock – Roll with the New

The material from his groundbreaking HBO special Bring the Pain is on this album, featuring the bit about the civil war within the black community that made him a household name.

Pages: 1 2

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life 7 Comedy Albums That Will Change Your Life (for at Least 20-30 Minutes) type:title title:7-comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life-for-at-least-20-30-minutes articles type:post-type post-type:articles ahunsaker type:author author:ahunsaker Comedy type:category category:comedy Lists category:lists Bill Hicks type:post-tag post-tag:bill-hicks Chris Rock post-tag:chris-rock Eddie Izzard post-tag:eddie-izzard Eddie Murphy post-tag:eddie-murphy George Carlin post-tag:george-carlin lists post-tag:lists Reggie Watts post-tag:reggie-watts Richard Pryor post-tag:richard-pryor Tig Notaro post-tag:tig-notaro Maron type:show show:maron maron type:primary-category primary-category:maron /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4854/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4854-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/shows/maron/blog/2014/06/comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life 7 Comedy Albums That Will Change Your Life (for at Least 20-30 Minutes) type:title title:7-comedy-albums-that-will-change-your-life-for-at-least-20-30-minutes articles type:post-type post-type:articles ahunsaker type:author author:ahunsaker Comedy type:category category:comedy Lists category:lists Bill Hicks type:post-tag post-tag:bill-hicks Chris Rock post-tag:chris-rock Eddie Izzard post-tag:eddie-izzard Eddie Murphy post-tag:eddie-murphy George Carlin post-tag:george-carlin lists post-tag:lists Reggie Watts post-tag:reggie-watts Richard Pryor post-tag:richard-pryor Tig Notaro post-tag:tig-notaro Maron type:show show:maron maron type:primary-category primary-category:maron /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4854/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4854-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.