Weird Al Yankovic Mandatory Fun World Tour

Al Aboard

“Weird Al” Yankovic Announces Mandatory World Tour Dates

Comedy Bang! Bang!'s new bandleader is coming to a town near you.

Posted by on

As we contemplate groggily walking over to the fridge to finish off that leftover scampi, “Weird Al” Yankovic just announced he’ll be kicking off a 76-date live tour across North America. From the start of June to the end of September, Comedy Bang! Bang!‘s new cohost and bandleader will be traversing the US and Canada after extending his Mandatory Fun tour into this year.

In a statement, Yankovic said, “I’ve decided to do the Mandatory World Tour for one more year, after learning that some people didn’t make it out to the show this last time around. Apparently, they don’t know the meaning of the word ‘mandatory’!!”

Pre-sales begin Wednesday, Feb. 24th, at WeirdAl.com with regular online sales beginning Friday the 26th. Check out Al’s live dates below, and if you’ll excuse us, we need to rest up a bit before we eat that scampi.

Weird Al’s The Return of the Mandatory World Tour 2016

Friday, June 3 – Saint Petersburg, FL – Mahaffey Theatre

Saturday, June 4 – West Palm Beach, FL – Kravis Center for the Performing Arts – – Dreyfoos Hall

Sunday, June 5 – Fort Myers, FL – Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Center

Tuesday, June 7 – Mobile, AL – Saenger Theatre

Thursday, June 9 – Lakeland, FL – Youkey Theatre

Friday, June 10 – Miami, FL – Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, June 11 – Saint Augustine, FL – Saint Augustine Amphitheatre

Sunday, June 12 – Birmingham, AL – BJCC Concert Hall

Wednesday, June 15 – Louisville, KY – Iroquois Amphitheatre

Thursday, June 16 – Nashville, TN – Grand Ole Opry House

Friday, June 17 – Huntsville, AL – Von Braun Center

Saturday, June 18 – Greensboro, NC – Greensboro Coliseum Complex – White Oak Amphitheater

Sunday, June 19 – Atlanta, GA – Fox Theatre

Tuesday, June 21 – Portsmouth, VA – NTELOS Pavilion at Harbor Center

Wednesday, June 22 – Baltimore, MD – Hippodrome

Friday, June 24 – Akron, OH – Akron Civic Theatre

Saturday, June 25 – Bay City, MI – Veterans Memorial Park

Sunday, June 26 – Fort Wayne, IN – Foellinger Theatre

Tuesday, June 28 – Evansville, IN – Victory Theatre

Friday, July 1 – Toledo, OH – Toledo Zoo Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 2 – Aurora, IL – RiverEdge Park

Sunday, July 3 – Merrillville, IN – Star Plaza Theatre

Wednesday, July 6 – Columbus, OH – Palace Theatre

Thursday, July 7 – Indianapolis, IN – Farmer’s Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park

Friday, July 8 – Cincinnati, OH – PNC Pavilion at Riverbend

Saturday, July 9 – Chattanooga, TN – Tivoli Theatre

Sunday, July 10 – Southaven, MS – Snowden Grove Amphitheatre

Tuesday, July 12 – Austin, TX – Bass Concert Hall

Thursday, July 14 – Houston, TX – Brown Theatre at Wortham Center

Friday, July 15 – Biloxi, MS – Hard Rock Hotel & Casino – Hard Rock Live

Saturday, July 16 – Dallas, TX – Winspear Opera House

Sunday, July 17 – Enid, OK – Enid Event Center

Tuesday, July 19 – El Paso, TX – Plaza Theatre Performing Arts Center

Thursday, July 21 – San Diego, CA – Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre

Friday–Saturday, July 22–23 – Los Angeles – Hollywood Bowl

Sunday, July 24 – San Jose, CA – City National Civic

Tuesday–Wednesday – July 26–27 – Woodland Park Zoo

Thursday, July 28 – Troutdale, OR – Edgefield

Friday, July 29 – Eugene, OR – Cuthbert Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 30 – Rohnert Park, CA – Sonoma State University – Green Music Center

Tuesday, August 2 – Santa Barbara, CA – Arlington Theatre

Wednesday, August 3 – Phoenix, AZ – Comerica Theatre

Saturday, August 6 – Littleton, CO – The Hudson Gardens & Event Center

Sunday, August 7 – Kansas City, MO – Starlight Theatre

Tuesday, August 9 – Cedar Rapids, IA – McGrath Amphitheatre

Wednesday, August 10 – Lincoln, NE – Pinewood Bowl Amphitheatre

Saturday, August 13 – Sturgis, SD – Buffalo Chip Campground

Sunday, August 14 – Regina, SK – Conexus Arts Center

Monday, August 15 – Winnipeg, MB – Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts

Thursday, August 18 – Thunder Bay, ON – Thunder Bay Community Auditorium

Friday, August 19 – Minneapolis, MN – State Theatre

Saturday, August 20 – Appleton, WI – Fox Cities Performing Arts Center

Sunday, August 21 – Madison, WI – Overture Hall

Tuesday, August 23 – Rockford, IL – Coronado Theatre

Wednesday, August 24 – Paducah, KY – Carson Center

Friday, August 26 – Grand Rapids, MI – Devos Performance Hall

Saturday, August 27 – Sterling Heights, MI – Freedom Hill Amphitheatre

Sunday, August 28 – Huber Heights, OH – Rose Music Center at The Heights

Tuesday, August 30 – Wilmington, DE – The Playhouse Theatre

Thursday, September 1 – Lowell, MA – Boarding House Park

Friday, September 2 – Gilford, NH – Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion

Saturday, September 3 – Canandaigua, NY – Constellation Brands Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center

Sunday, September 4 – Big Flats, NY – The Summer Stage at Tags

Wednesday, September 7 – Columbia, SC – Koger Center for the Arts – U of SC

Thursday, September 8 – Wilmington, NC – Cape Fear Community College – Humanities and Fine Arts Center

Friday, September 9 – Durham, SC – Durham Performing Arts Center

Saturday, September 10 – Ashville, NC – Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Sunday, September 11 – Vienna, VA – Filene Center at Wolf Trap

Tuesday, September 13 – Hershey, PA – Hershey Theatre

Wednesday, September 14 – Providence, RI – Providence Performing Arts Center

Friday, September 16 – Pittsburgh, PA – Benedum Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, September 17 – Schenectady, NY – Proctor’s Theatre

Sunday, September 18 – Waterbury, CT – Palace Theatre

Thursday, September 22 – Charleston, WV – Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences

Friday, September 23 – Atlantic City, NY – Caesar’s Atlantic City – Circus Maximus

Saturday, September 24 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall

Watch More
Tony-Hale-Joes-Pub-3

Holiday Extra Special

Make The Holidays ’80s Again

Enjoy the holiday cheer Wednesday December 21 at 10P on IFC.

Posted by on
Photo Credit: Everett Collection

Whatever happened to the kind of crazy-yet-cozy holiday specials that blanketed the early winter airwaves of the 1980s? Unceremoniously killed by infectious ’90s jadedness? Slow fade out at the hands of early-onset millennial ennui? Whatever the reason, nixing the tradition was a huge mistake.

A huge mistake that we’re about to fix.

Announcing IFC’s Joe’s Pub Presents: A Holiday Special, starring Tony Hale. It’s a celeb-studded extravaganza in the glorious tradition of yesteryear featuring Bridget Everett, Jo Firestone, Nick Thune, Jen Kirkman, house band The Dap-Kings, and many more. And it’s at Joe’s Pub, everyone’s favorite home away from home in the Big Apple.

The yuletide cheer explodes Wednesday December 21 at 10P. But if you were born after 1989 and have no idea what void this spectacular special is going to fill, sample from this vintage selection of holiday hits:

Andy Williams and The NBC Kids Search For Santa

The quintessential holiday special. Get snuggly and turn off your brain. You won’t need it.

A Muppet Family Christmas

The Fraggles. The Muppets. The Sesame Street gang. Fate. The Jim Henson multiverse merges in this warm and fuzzy Holiday gathering.

Julie Andrews: The Sound Of Christmas

To this day a foolproof antidote to holiday cynicism. It’s cheesy, but a good cheese. In this case an Alpine Gruyère.

Star Wars Holiday Special

Okay, busted. This one was released in 1978. Still totally ’80s though. And yes that’s Bea Arthur.

Pee Wee’s Playhouse Christmas Special

Pass the eggnog, and make sure it’s loaded. This special is everything you’d expect it to be and much, much more.

Joe’s Pub Presents: A Holiday Special premieres Wednesday December 21 at 10P on IFC.

Watch More
CBB_519_tout_1

It Ain't Over Yet

A Guide to Coping with the End of Comedy Bang! Bang!

Watch the final episodes tonight at 11 and 11:30P on IFC.

Posted by on

After five seasons and 110 halved-hour episodes, Scott Aukerman’s hipster comedy opus, Comedy Bang! Bang!, has come to an end. Fridays at 11 and 11:30P will never be the same. We know it can be hard for fans to adjust after the series finale of their favorite TV show. That’s why we’ve prepared this step-by-step guide to managing your grief.

Step One: Cry it out

It’s just natural. We’re sad too.
Scott crying GIF

Step Two: Read the CB!B! IMDB Trivia Page

The show is over and it feels like you’ve lost a friend. But how well did you really know this friend? Head over to Comedy Bang! Bang!’s IMDB page to find out some things you may not have known…like that it’s “based on a Civil War battle of the same name” or that “Reggie Watts was actually born with the name Theodore Leopold The Third.”

Step Three: Listen to the podcast

One fascinating piece of CB!B! trivia that you might not learn from IMDB is that there’s a podcast that shares the same name as the TV show. It’s even hosted by Scott Aukerman! It’s not exactly like watching the TV show on a Friday night, but that’s only because each episode is released Monday morning. If you close your eyes, the podcast is just like watching the show with your eyes closed!

Step Four: Watch brand new CB!B! clips?!

The best way to cope with the end of Comedy Bang! Bang! is to completely ignore that it’s over — because it’s not. In an unprecedented move, IFC is opening up the bonus CB!B! content vault. There are four brand new, never-before-seen sketches featuring Scott Aukerman, Kid Cudi, and “Weird Al” Yankovic ready for you to view on the IFC App. There’s also one right here, below this paragraph! Watch all four b-b-bonus clips and feel better.

Binge the entire final season, plus exclusive sketches, right now on the IFC app.

Watch More
Watch-IFC

Everybody Sweats Now

The Four-Day Sweatsgiving Weekend On IFC

Posted by on

This long holiday weekend is your time to gobble gobble gobble and give heartfelt thanks—thanks for the comfort and forgiveness of sweatpants. Because when it comes right down to it, there’s nothing more wholesome and American than stuffing yourself stupid and spending endless hours in front of the TV in your softest of softests.

So get the sweats, grab the remote and join IFC for four perfect days of entertainment.

sweatsgiving
It all starts with a 24-hour T-day marathon of Rocky Horror Picture Show, then continues Friday with an all-day binge of Stan Against Evil.

By Saturday, the couch will have molded to your shape. Which is good, because you’ll be nestled in for back-to-back Die Hard and Lethal Weapon.

Finally, come Sunday it’s time to put the sweat back in your sweatpants with The Shining, The Exorcist, The Chronicles of Riddick, Terminator 2, and Blade: Trinity. They totally count as cardio.

As if you need more convincing, here’s Martha Wash and the IFC&C Music Factory to hammer the point home.

The Sweatsgiving Weekend starts Thursday on IFC

Watch More
Powered by ZergNet