Weird Al Yankovic Mandatory Fun World Tour

Al Aboard

“Weird Al” Yankovic Announces Mandatory World Tour Dates

Comedy Bang! Bang!'s new bandleader is coming to a town near you.

Posted by on

As we contemplate groggily walking over to the fridge to finish off that leftover scampi, “Weird Al” Yankovic just announced he’ll be kicking off a 76-date live tour across North America. From the start of June to the end of September, Comedy Bang! Bang!‘s new cohost and bandleader will be traversing the US and Canada after extending his Mandatory Fun tour into this year.

In a statement, Yankovic said, “I’ve decided to do the Mandatory World Tour for one more year, after learning that some people didn’t make it out to the show this last time around. Apparently, they don’t know the meaning of the word ‘mandatory’!!”

Pre-sales begin Wednesday, Feb. 24th, at WeirdAl.com with regular online sales beginning Friday the 26th. Check out Al’s live dates below, and if you’ll excuse us, we need to rest up a bit before we eat that scampi.

Weird Al’s The Return of the Mandatory World Tour 2016

Friday, June 3 – Saint Petersburg, FL – Mahaffey Theatre

Saturday, June 4 – West Palm Beach, FL – Kravis Center for the Performing Arts – – Dreyfoos Hall

Sunday, June 5 – Fort Myers, FL – Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Center

Tuesday, June 7 – Mobile, AL – Saenger Theatre

Thursday, June 9 – Lakeland, FL – Youkey Theatre

Friday, June 10 – Miami, FL – Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, June 11 – Saint Augustine, FL – Saint Augustine Amphitheatre

Sunday, June 12 – Birmingham, AL – BJCC Concert Hall

Wednesday, June 15 – Louisville, KY – Iroquois Amphitheatre

Thursday, June 16 – Nashville, TN – Grand Ole Opry House

Friday, June 17 – Huntsville, AL – Von Braun Center

Saturday, June 18 – Greensboro, NC – Greensboro Coliseum Complex – White Oak Amphitheater

Sunday, June 19 – Atlanta, GA – Fox Theatre

Tuesday, June 21 – Portsmouth, VA – NTELOS Pavilion at Harbor Center

Wednesday, June 22 – Baltimore, MD – Hippodrome

Friday, June 24 – Akron, OH – Akron Civic Theatre

Saturday, June 25 – Bay City, MI – Veterans Memorial Park

Sunday, June 26 – Fort Wayne, IN – Foellinger Theatre

Tuesday, June 28 – Evansville, IN – Victory Theatre

Friday, July 1 – Toledo, OH – Toledo Zoo Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 2 – Aurora, IL – RiverEdge Park

Sunday, July 3 – Merrillville, IN – Star Plaza Theatre

Wednesday, July 6 – Columbus, OH – Palace Theatre

Thursday, July 7 – Indianapolis, IN – Farmer’s Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park

Friday, July 8 – Cincinnati, OH – PNC Pavilion at Riverbend

Saturday, July 9 – Chattanooga, TN – Tivoli Theatre

Sunday, July 10 – Southaven, MS – Snowden Grove Amphitheatre

Tuesday, July 12 – Austin, TX – Bass Concert Hall

Thursday, July 14 – Houston, TX – Brown Theatre at Wortham Center

Friday, July 15 – Biloxi, MS – Hard Rock Hotel & Casino – Hard Rock Live

Saturday, July 16 – Dallas, TX – Winspear Opera House

Sunday, July 17 – Enid, OK – Enid Event Center

Tuesday, July 19 – El Paso, TX – Plaza Theatre Performing Arts Center

Thursday, July 21 – San Diego, CA – Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre

Friday–Saturday, July 22–23 – Los Angeles – Hollywood Bowl

Sunday, July 24 – San Jose, CA – City National Civic

Tuesday–Wednesday – July 26–27 – Woodland Park Zoo

Thursday, July 28 – Troutdale, OR – Edgefield

Friday, July 29 – Eugene, OR – Cuthbert Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 30 – Rohnert Park, CA – Sonoma State University – Green Music Center

Tuesday, August 2 – Santa Barbara, CA – Arlington Theatre

Wednesday, August 3 – Phoenix, AZ – Comerica Theatre

Saturday, August 6 – Littleton, CO – The Hudson Gardens & Event Center

Sunday, August 7 – Kansas City, MO – Starlight Theatre

Tuesday, August 9 – Cedar Rapids, IA – McGrath Amphitheatre

Wednesday, August 10 – Lincoln, NE – Pinewood Bowl Amphitheatre

Saturday, August 13 – Sturgis, SD – Buffalo Chip Campground

Sunday, August 14 – Regina, SK – Conexus Arts Center

Monday, August 15 – Winnipeg, MB – Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts

Thursday, August 18 – Thunder Bay, ON – Thunder Bay Community Auditorium

Friday, August 19 – Minneapolis, MN – State Theatre

Saturday, August 20 – Appleton, WI – Fox Cities Performing Arts Center

Sunday, August 21 – Madison, WI – Overture Hall

Tuesday, August 23 – Rockford, IL – Coronado Theatre

Wednesday, August 24 – Paducah, KY – Carson Center

Friday, August 26 – Grand Rapids, MI – Devos Performance Hall

Saturday, August 27 – Sterling Heights, MI – Freedom Hill Amphitheatre

Sunday, August 28 – Huber Heights, OH – Rose Music Center at The Heights

Tuesday, August 30 – Wilmington, DE – The Playhouse Theatre

Thursday, September 1 – Lowell, MA – Boarding House Park

Friday, September 2 – Gilford, NH – Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion

Saturday, September 3 – Canandaigua, NY – Constellation Brands Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center

Sunday, September 4 – Big Flats, NY – The Summer Stage at Tags

Wednesday, September 7 – Columbia, SC – Koger Center for the Arts – U of SC

Thursday, September 8 – Wilmington, NC – Cape Fear Community College – Humanities and Fine Arts Center

Friday, September 9 – Durham, SC – Durham Performing Arts Center

Saturday, September 10 – Ashville, NC – Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Sunday, September 11 – Vienna, VA – Filene Center at Wolf Trap

Tuesday, September 13 – Hershey, PA – Hershey Theatre

Wednesday, September 14 – Providence, RI – Providence Performing Arts Center

Friday, September 16 – Pittsburgh, PA – Benedum Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, September 17 – Schenectady, NY – Proctor’s Theatre

Sunday, September 18 – Waterbury, CT – Palace Theatre

Thursday, September 22 – Charleston, WV – Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences

Friday, September 23 – Atlantic City, NY – Caesar’s Atlantic City – Circus Maximus

Saturday, September 24 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall

Watch More
ISA_2017_Episodic_101

Forget Oscar

Find Your Spirit Animal

The Spirit Awards are LIVE this Saturday at 2p PT/5p ET.

Posted by on

In just a few precious days, the greatest, most epic, most star-studded awards ceremony of the year comes to IFC.

And please, we’re definitely not talking about the Oscars. We’re talking about the Spirit Awards. Hosted by iconic comedy duo Nick Kroll and John Mulaney, it’s a relatively under-the-radar awards show with serious cred. And if the past is any indicator, we’re in for a wild night.

If you feel like doing your homework, you can find a full list of nominees and performance excerpts here. It reads like a who’s who of everyone that matters – those larger-than-life personalities with status that borders on mythological. Our celebrity spirit animals, if you will.

This isn’t hyperbole. Literally everyone who takes the stage at the awards show is spirit animal material. Let’s see if we can help you find yours…

Do you

Live in someone else’s shadow despite shining like the sun? Do you inexplicably vandalize your pretty-boy good looks with a sloppy-joe man bun and a repellent pubic-hair beard? Do you think sounding stoned and sounding thoughtful are kinda the same thing?

Congratulations, your spirit animal is Casey Affleck.

He’s the self-canonized patron saint of anyone who’s got the goods but doesn’t give a damn.

Do you

Have mid-length hair and exude a certain feminine masculinity that is universally appealing? Are you drawn to situations that promise little to nothing in the way of grooming or hygiene as a transparently self-conscious attempt to conceal your radiant inner glow? Does that fail miserably?

Way to go, your spirit animal is Viggo Mortensen.

He’s the yoga teacher of actors, in that what should make him super nasty only increases his curb appeal.

Do you

Get zero recognition for work that everyone knows is unrivaled? Do you inspire greatness in others yet get shortchanged when it comes to your own acclaim? Are you a goddam B-52 bomber in an industry of biplanes?

Bingo, your spirit animal is Annette Bening.

What does it take for this artist to win an Oscar? Honestly now, if her performance in 20th Century Women doesn’t earn her every award on the planet, consider it proof that the Universe truly is a cold dark void absent of reason or compassion.

Do you

Walk into a room full of strangers and walk out with a room full of friends? Have you been hiding under the radar just waiting for the right moment to leap out into the spotlight and stay there FOREVER? Do you possess the almost messianic ability to elevate Shia LaBeouf’s on-screen charisma?

You guessed it (or not), your spirit animal is 100% Sasha Lane.

If you haven’t seen American Honey, then you haven’t heard of her. She came out of the blue with a performance both subtle and powerful, and now she’s going to be in all the movies from this moment on. Or she should be, at any rate.

Don’t see your spirit animal there? Worry not. There are many more nominees to choose from, and you can see them all (yes, including Shia LaBeouf) during the Independent Spirit Awards, this Saturday at 2pm PT/5pm ET only on IFC.

Watch More
carnotes3_thumbnail

Car Notes

Portlandia Keeps Road Rage In Park

Get a lesson in parking etiquette on a new Portlandia.

Posted by on

It’s the most American form of cause and effect: Park like a monster, receive a passive-aggressive note.

car notes note

This unofficial rule of the road is critical to keeping the great big wheel of car-related Karma in balance. And naturally, Portlandia’s Kath and Dave have elevated it to an awkward, awkward art form in Car Notes, the Portlandia web series presented by Subaru.

If you’ve somehow missed the memo about Car Notes until now, you can catch up on every installment online, on the IFC app, and on demand. You can even have a little taste right here:

If your interest is piqued – great news for you! A special Car Notes sketch makes an appearance in the latest episode of Portlandia, and you can catch up on it now right here.

Watch all-new Portlandia Thursdays at 10P on IFC.

Watch More
MAT_101_blog

Naked and Hungry

Two New Ways to Threeway

IFC's Comedy Crib gets sensual in time for Valentine's Day.

Posted by on

This week, two scandalous new digital series debut on IFC’s Comedy Crib.
Ménage à Trois invites people to participate in a real-life couple’s fantasy boudoir. And The Filling is Mutual follows two saucy chefs who invite comedians to make food inspired by their routines. Each show crosses some major boundaries in sexy and/or delicious ways, and each are impossible to describe in detail without arousing some awkward physical cravings. Which is why it’s best to hear it directly from the minds behind the madness…

Ménage à Trois

According to Diana Kolsky and Murf Meyer, the two extremely versatile constants in the ever-shifting à trois, “MàT is a sensually psychedelic late night variety show exploring matters of hearts, parts and every goddamn thing in between…PS, any nudes will be 100% tasteful.”

This sexy brainchild includes sketches, music, and props that would put Pee-wee’s Playhouse to shame. But how could this fantastical new twist on the vanilla-sex variety show format have come to be?

“We met in a UCB improv class taught by Chris Gethard. It was clear that we both humped to the beat of our own drum; our souls and tongues intermingled at the bar after class, so we dove in head first.”

Sign me up, but promise to go slow. This tricycle is going to need training wheels.

The Filling is Mutual

Comedians Jen Saunderson and Jenny Zigrino became best friends after meeting in the restroom at the Gotham Comedy Club, which explains their super-comfortable dynamic when cooking with their favorite comedians. “We talk about comedy, sex, menses, the obnoxiousness of Christina Aguilera all while eating food that most would push off their New Year’s resolution.”

The hook of cooking food based off of comedy routines is so perfect and so personal. It made us wonder about what dishes Jen & Jenny would pair with some big name comedy staples, like…

Bill Murray?
“Oh, that’s easy Meatballs with Lingonberry Space Jam it’d be great, but then we’d have to Oh, that’s easy Meatballs with Lingonberry Space Jam it’d be great, but then we’d have to… Oh, that’s easy Meatballs with Lingonberry Space Jam it’d be great, but then we’d have to avoid doing any kind of silly Groundhog Day reference.” 

Bridget Everett?
“Cream Balls… Sea Salt encrusted Chocolate Ganache Covered Ice Cream Ball that melt cream when you bite into them.” 

Nick Kroll & John Mulaney? 
“I’d make George and Gil black and white cookies from scratch and just as we open the oven to put the cookie in we’d prank ’em with an obnoxious amount of tuna!!!”

Carrie Brownstein & Fred Armisen? 
“Definitely a raw cacao “safe word” brownie. Cacao!”

Just perfect.

See both new series in their entirety on IFC’s Comedy Crib.

Watch More
Powered by ZergNet