Weird Al Yankovic Mandatory Fun World Tour

Al Aboard

“Weird Al” Yankovic Announces Mandatory World Tour Dates

Comedy Bang! Bang!'s new bandleader is coming to a town near you.

Posted by on

As we contemplate groggily walking over to the fridge to finish off that leftover scampi, “Weird Al” Yankovic just announced he’ll be kicking off a 76-date live tour across North America. From the start of June to the end of September, Comedy Bang! Bang!‘s new cohost and bandleader will be traversing the US and Canada after extending his Mandatory Fun tour into this year.

In a statement, Yankovic said, “I’ve decided to do the Mandatory World Tour for one more year, after learning that some people didn’t make it out to the show this last time around. Apparently, they don’t know the meaning of the word ‘mandatory’!!”

Pre-sales begin Wednesday, Feb. 24th, at WeirdAl.com with regular online sales beginning Friday the 26th. Check out Al’s live dates below, and if you’ll excuse us, we need to rest up a bit before we eat that scampi.

Weird Al’s The Return of the Mandatory World Tour 2016

Friday, June 3 – Saint Petersburg, FL – Mahaffey Theatre

Saturday, June 4 – West Palm Beach, FL – Kravis Center for the Performing Arts – – Dreyfoos Hall

Sunday, June 5 – Fort Myers, FL – Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Center

Tuesday, June 7 – Mobile, AL – Saenger Theatre

Thursday, June 9 – Lakeland, FL – Youkey Theatre

Friday, June 10 – Miami, FL – Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, June 11 – Saint Augustine, FL – Saint Augustine Amphitheatre

Sunday, June 12 – Birmingham, AL – BJCC Concert Hall

Wednesday, June 15 – Louisville, KY – Iroquois Amphitheatre

Thursday, June 16 – Nashville, TN – Grand Ole Opry House

Friday, June 17 – Huntsville, AL – Von Braun Center

Saturday, June 18 – Greensboro, NC – Greensboro Coliseum Complex – White Oak Amphitheater

Sunday, June 19 – Atlanta, GA – Fox Theatre

Tuesday, June 21 – Portsmouth, VA – NTELOS Pavilion at Harbor Center

Wednesday, June 22 – Baltimore, MD – Hippodrome

Friday, June 24 – Akron, OH – Akron Civic Theatre

Saturday, June 25 – Bay City, MI – Veterans Memorial Park

Sunday, June 26 – Fort Wayne, IN – Foellinger Theatre

Tuesday, June 28 – Evansville, IN – Victory Theatre

Friday, July 1 – Toledo, OH – Toledo Zoo Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 2 – Aurora, IL – RiverEdge Park

Sunday, July 3 – Merrillville, IN – Star Plaza Theatre

Wednesday, July 6 – Columbus, OH – Palace Theatre

Thursday, July 7 – Indianapolis, IN – Farmer’s Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park

Friday, July 8 – Cincinnati, OH – PNC Pavilion at Riverbend

Saturday, July 9 – Chattanooga, TN – Tivoli Theatre

Sunday, July 10 – Southaven, MS – Snowden Grove Amphitheatre

Tuesday, July 12 – Austin, TX – Bass Concert Hall

Thursday, July 14 – Houston, TX – Brown Theatre at Wortham Center

Friday, July 15 – Biloxi, MS – Hard Rock Hotel & Casino – Hard Rock Live

Saturday, July 16 – Dallas, TX – Winspear Opera House

Sunday, July 17 – Enid, OK – Enid Event Center

Tuesday, July 19 – El Paso, TX – Plaza Theatre Performing Arts Center

Thursday, July 21 – San Diego, CA – Cal Coast Credit Union Open Air Theatre

Friday–Saturday, July 22–23 – Los Angeles – Hollywood Bowl

Sunday, July 24 – San Jose, CA – City National Civic

Tuesday–Wednesday – July 26–27 – Woodland Park Zoo

Thursday, July 28 – Troutdale, OR – Edgefield

Friday, July 29 – Eugene, OR – Cuthbert Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 30 – Rohnert Park, CA – Sonoma State University – Green Music Center

Tuesday, August 2 – Santa Barbara, CA – Arlington Theatre

Wednesday, August 3 – Phoenix, AZ – Comerica Theatre

Saturday, August 6 – Littleton, CO – The Hudson Gardens & Event Center

Sunday, August 7 – Kansas City, MO – Starlight Theatre

Tuesday, August 9 – Cedar Rapids, IA – McGrath Amphitheatre

Wednesday, August 10 – Lincoln, NE – Pinewood Bowl Amphitheatre

Saturday, August 13 – Sturgis, SD – Buffalo Chip Campground

Sunday, August 14 – Regina, SK – Conexus Arts Center

Monday, August 15 – Winnipeg, MB – Burton Cummings Theatre for the Performing Arts

Thursday, August 18 – Thunder Bay, ON – Thunder Bay Community Auditorium

Friday, August 19 – Minneapolis, MN – State Theatre

Saturday, August 20 – Appleton, WI – Fox Cities Performing Arts Center

Sunday, August 21 – Madison, WI – Overture Hall

Tuesday, August 23 – Rockford, IL – Coronado Theatre

Wednesday, August 24 – Paducah, KY – Carson Center

Friday, August 26 – Grand Rapids, MI – Devos Performance Hall

Saturday, August 27 – Sterling Heights, MI – Freedom Hill Amphitheatre

Sunday, August 28 – Huber Heights, OH – Rose Music Center at The Heights

Tuesday, August 30 – Wilmington, DE – The Playhouse Theatre

Thursday, September 1 – Lowell, MA – Boarding House Park

Friday, September 2 – Gilford, NH – Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion

Saturday, September 3 – Canandaigua, NY – Constellation Brands Marvin Sands Performing Arts Center

Sunday, September 4 – Big Flats, NY – The Summer Stage at Tags

Wednesday, September 7 – Columbia, SC – Koger Center for the Arts – U of SC

Thursday, September 8 – Wilmington, NC – Cape Fear Community College – Humanities and Fine Arts Center

Friday, September 9 – Durham, SC – Durham Performing Arts Center

Saturday, September 10 – Ashville, NC – Thomas Wolfe Auditorium

Sunday, September 11 – Vienna, VA – Filene Center at Wolf Trap

Tuesday, September 13 – Hershey, PA – Hershey Theatre

Wednesday, September 14 – Providence, RI – Providence Performing Arts Center

Friday, September 16 – Pittsburgh, PA – Benedum Center for the Performing Arts

Saturday, September 17 – Schenectady, NY – Proctor’s Theatre

Sunday, September 18 – Waterbury, CT – Palace Theatre

Thursday, September 22 – Charleston, WV – Clay Center for the Arts & Sciences

Friday, September 23 – Atlantic City, NY – Caesar’s Atlantic City – Circus Maximus

Saturday, September 24 – New York, NY – Radio City Music Hall

Neurotica_105_MPX-1920×1080

New Nasty

Whips, Chains and Hand Sanitizer

Turn On The Full Season Of Neurotica At IFC's Comedy Crib

Posted by on

Jenny Jaffe has a lot going on: She’s writing for Disney’s upcoming Big Hero 6: The Series, developing comedy projects with pals at Devastator Press, and she’s straddling the line between S&M and OCD as the creator and star of the sexyish new series Neurotica, which has just made its debut on IFC’s Comedy Crib. Jenny gave us some extremely intimate insight into what makes Neurotica (safely) sizzle…

IFC_CC_Neurotica_Series_Image4

IFC: How would you describe Neurotica to a fancy network executive you met in an elevator?

Jenny: Neurotica is about a plucky Dominatrix with OCD trying to save her small-town dungeon. 

IFC: How would you describe Neurotica to a drunk friend of a friend you met in a bar?

Jenny: Neurotica is about a plucky Dominatrix with OCD trying to save her small-town dungeon. You’re great. We should get coffee sometime. I’m not just saying that. I know other people just say that sometimes but I really feel like we’re going to be friends, you know? Here, what’s your number, I’ll call you so you can have my number! 

IFC: What’s your comedy origin story?

Jenny: Since I was a kid I’ve dealt with severe OCD and anxiety. Comedy has always been one of the ways I’ve dealt with that. I honestly just want to help make people feel happy for a few minutes at a time. 

IFC: What was the genesis of Neurotica?

Jenny: I’m pretty sure it was a title-first situation. I was coming up with ideas to pitch to a production company a million years ago (this isn’t hyperbole; I am VERY old) and just wrote down “Neurotica”; then it just sort of appeared fully formed. “Neurotica? Oh it’s an over-the-top romantic comedy about a Dominatrix with OCD, of course.” And that just happened to hit the buttons of everything I’m fascinated by. 

Neurotica_series_image_1

IFC: How would you describe Ivy?

Jenny: Ivy is everything I love in a comedy character – she’s tenacious, she’s confident, she’s sweet, she’s a big wonderful weirdo. 

IFC: How would Ivy’s clientele describe her?

Jenny:  Open-minded, caring, excellent aim. 

IFC: Why don’t more small towns have local dungeons?

Jenny: How do you know they don’t? 

IFC: What are the pros and cons of joining a chain mega dungeon?

Jenny: You can use any of their locations but you’ll always forget you have a membership and in a year you’ll be like “jeez why won’t they let me just cancel?” 

IFC: Mouths are gross! Why is that?

Jenny: If you had never seen a mouth before and I was like “it’s a wet flesh cave with sharp parts that lives in your face”, it would sound like Cronenberg-ian body horror. All body parts are horrifying. I’m kind of rooting for the singularity, I’d feel way better if I was just a consciousness in a cloud. 

See the whole season of Neurotica right now on IFC’s Comedy Crib.

The-Craft

The ’90s Are Back

The '90s live again during IFC's weekend marathon.

Posted by on
Photo Credit: Everett Digital, Columbia Pictures

We know what you’re thinking: “Why on Earth would anyone want to reanimate the decade that gave us Haddaway, Los Del Rio, and Smash Mouth, not to mention Crystal Pepsi?”

via GIPHY

Thoughts like those are normal. After all, we tend to remember lasting psychological trauma more vividly than fleeting joy. But if you dig deep, you’ll rediscover that the ’90s gave us so much to fondly revisit. Consider the four pillars of true ’90s culture.

Boy Bands

We all pretended to hate them, but watch us come alive at a karaoke bar when “I Want It That Way” comes on. Arguably more influential than Brit Pop and Grunge put together, because hello – Justin Timberlake. He’s a legitimate cultural gem.

Man-Child Movies

Adam Sandler is just behind The Simpsons in terms of his influence on humor. Somehow his man-child schtick didn’t get old until the aughts, and his success in that arena ushered in a wave of other man-child movies from fellow ’90s comedians. RIP Chris Farley (and WTF Rob Schneider).

via GIPHY

via GIPHY

Teen Angst

In horror, dramas, comedies, and everything in between: Troubled teens! Getting into trouble! Who couldn’t relate to their First World problems, plaid flannels, and lose grasp of the internet?

Mainstream Nihilism

From the Coen Bros to Fincher to Tarantino, filmmakers on the verge of explosive popularity seemed interested in one thing: mind f*cking their audiences by putting characters in situations (and plot lines) beyond anyone’s control.

Feeling better about that walk down memory lane? Good. Enjoy the revival.

via GIPHY

And revisit some important ’90s classics all this weekend during IFC’s ’90s Marathon. Check out the full schedule here.

PL_409_MPX-1920×1080

Get Physical

DVDs are the new Vinyl

Portlandia Season 7 Now Available On Disc.

Posted by on
GIFs via Giffy

In this crazy digital age, sometimes all we really want is to reach out and touch something. Maybe that’s why so many of us are still gung-ho about owning stuff on DVD. It’s tangible. It’s real. It’s tech from a bygone era that still feels relevant, yet also kitschy and retro. It’s basically vinyl for people born after 1990.

via GIPHY

Inevitably we all have that friend whose love of the disc is so absolutely repellent that he makes the technology less appealing. “The resolution, man. The colors. You can’t get latitude like that on a download.” Go to hell, Tim.

Yes, Tim sucks, and you don’t want to be like Tim, but maybe he’s onto something and DVD is still the future. Here are some benefits that go beyond touch.

It’s Decor and Decorum

With DVDs and a handsome bookshelf you can show off your great taste in film and television without showing off your search history. Good for first dates, dinner parties, family reunions, etc.

via GIPHY

Forget Public Wifi

Warm up that optical drive. No more awkwardly streaming episodes on shady free wifi!

via GIPHY

Inter-not

Internet service goes down. It happens all the time. It could happen right now. Then what? Without a DVD on hand you’ll be forced to make eye contact with your friends and family. Or worse – conversation.

via GIPHY

Self Defense

You can’t throw a download like a ninja star. Think about it.

via GIPHY

If you’d like to experience the benefits DVD ownership yourself, Portlandia Season 7 is now available on DVD and Blue-Ray.