S

The Batman is coming to IFC

621_356_batman

"Batman" airs tonight at 7:15 p.m. ET; "Batman Returns" and "Batman Forever" start tomorrow at 8/7c

Tonight at 7:15 p.m. ET we are lighting up the sky over Gotham with the Bat Signal, because the Dark Knight is coming to IFC. Tim Burton’s 1989 “Batman” is the big-screen response to the serious (and seriously violent) revisionist comic book tales of the ’80s. The film reimagines Gotham as a foreboding industrial metropolis where billionaire playboy Bruce Wayne (Michael Keaton) spends his nights as a masked vigilante, striking fear into the hearts of the city’s criminals. His Caped Crusader battles the Joker (Jack Nicholson) in both war over Gotham and love in the form of Kim Basinger’s Vicki Vale.

Then on Saturday at 8/7c, Batman returns under the watchful eye of Tim Burton. In “Batman Returns,” Michael Keaton once again dons the mask and cape to defend Gotham City as only Tim Burton could imagine it — a bleak, snow-covered postmodern variation on Charles Dickens’ London. The city faces a new threat: the deformed, sinister Oswald Cobblepot, aka the Penguin (Danny DeVito), whose team-up with industrial tycoon Max Schreck (Christopher Walken) to run for Mayor hides a twisted plan to kill all of the town’s first-born sons. As if that biblical shit wasn’t enough, Batman has to deal with Catwoman (Michelle Pfeiffer), an anarchic menace who might very well be his soul mate. Or not.

Saturday’s double feature continues with “Batman Forever” when Keaton hands the keys to the Batmobile over to Val Kilmer and Tim Burton passes the directorial duties over to Joel Schumacher. This time around Batman’s enemies include disgruntled Wayne Enterprises employee Edward Nygma a.k.a. The Riddler (Jim Carrey), former District Attorney Harvey Dent (Tommy Lee Jones,), whose hideous facial scarring has transformed him into Two-Face. It’s also the first time that Dick Grayson (Chris O’Donnell), joins the new Batman franchise. Plus Batman gets a love interest in hottie shrink Chase Meridian (Nicole Kidman),

Want the latest news from IFC? Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @ifctv.

“Batman” airs tonight at 7:15 p.m. ET; Saturday, Feb. 2 at 2 AM ET; Thursday, Feb. 14 at 8 PM ET; Friday, Feb. 15 at 1:30 AM ET; Tuesday, Feb. 19 at 8 PM ET; Wednesday, Feb. 20 at 12:30 AM E; TMonday, Feb. 25 at 8 PM ET; and Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 1:30 AM ET; “Batman Returns” airs Saturday, Feb. 2 at 8 PM ET; Sunday, Feb. 3 at 1:30 AM ET; Friday, Feb. 15 at 7:15 PM ET; Saturday, Feb. 16 at 2 AM ET; Thursday, Feb. 21 at 8 PM ET; Friday, Feb. 22 at 1:15 AM ET; Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 10:45 PM ET; and Wednesday, Feb. 27 at 10:45 AM ET; “Batman Forever” airs Saturday, Feb. 2 at 10:45 PM ET; Sunday, Feb. 3 at 6:45 AM ET; Friday, Feb. 22 at 7:15 PM ET; Saturday, Feb. 23 at 7:15 AM ET; Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 8 PM ET; Wednesday, Feb. 27 at 1:30 AM ET

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc The Batman is coming to IFC type:title title:the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc Batman type:post-tag post-tag:batman Batman Forever post-tag:batman-forever Batman Returns post-tag:batman-returns Danny DeVito post-tag:danny-devito Jim Carrey post-tag:jim-carrey Joel Schumacher post-tag:joel-schumacher Michael Keaton post-tag:michael-keaton Michelle Pfeiffer post-tag:michelle-pfeiffer Nicole Kidman post-tag:nicole-kidman Tim Burton post-tag:tim-burton Tommy Lee Jones post-tag:tommy-lee-jones Val Kilmer post-tag:val-kilmer What to Watch on IFC post-tag:what-to-watch-on-ifc on-ifc type:primary-category primary-category:on-ifc /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4952/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4952-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2013/02/the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc The Batman is coming to IFC type:title title:the-batman-is-coming-to-ifc articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc Batman type:post-tag post-tag:batman Batman Forever post-tag:batman-forever Batman Returns post-tag:batman-returns Danny DeVito post-tag:danny-devito Jim Carrey post-tag:jim-carrey Joel Schumacher post-tag:joel-schumacher Michael Keaton post-tag:michael-keaton Michelle Pfeiffer post-tag:michelle-pfeiffer Nicole Kidman post-tag:nicole-kidman Tim Burton post-tag:tim-burton Tommy Lee Jones post-tag:tommy-lee-jones Val Kilmer post-tag:val-kilmer What to Watch on IFC post-tag:what-to-watch-on-ifc on-ifc type:primary-category primary-category:on-ifc /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4952/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4952-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.