S

Welcome to the Automat: The Larry Sanders Show

Larry-Sanders-Show

The Larry Sanders Show airs tomorrow at 5 a.m. ET

Before Girls or Curb Your Enthusiasm or Flight of the Conchords, there was The Larry Sanders Show. It was the seminal HBO comedy in the 90s filled with razor-sharp satire that skewered Hollywood while letting everyone in on the joke. It starred Garry Shandling as the vain and neurotic talk show host Larry Sanders with Jeffrey Tambor as his hapless and somewhat clueless sidekick Hank. The satirical sitcom focused on the behind-the-scenes action of running a hit late night TV show, including the writers (Jeremy Piven, Sarah Silverman), producers (Rip Torn), bookers (Janeane Garofalo, Mary Lynn Rajskub), and agents (Bob Odenkirk). Among the show’s many highlights are the celebrity guests who stop by the set to play self-parodying versions of themselves, including Farrah Fawcett, Janet Jackson, Robin Williams, Drew Barrymore, Beck, and Jerry Seinfeld. The show is truly great, which is why we’re excited to be airing it during The Automat, the DVR-friendly early morning time slot. Tune in tomorrow to The Larry Sanders Show at 5 a.m. ET/4 a.m. CT and check the schedule for other showtimes.

But why take our word for it? Here are Bob Odenkirk, Sarah Silverman, Andy Dick, and Judd Apatow on what made the Larry Sanders Show so great:

Bob Odenkirk

Sarah Silverman

Andy Dick

Judd Apatow

Want the latest news from IFC? Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @ifctv.

The Larry Sanders Show airs tomorrow at 5 a.m. ET. Check the schedule for other showtimes.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show Welcome to the Automat: The Larry Sanders Show type:title title:welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc Andy Dick type:post-tag post-tag:andy-dick Bob Odenkirk post-tag:bob-odenkirk Garry Shandling post-tag:garry-shandling Jeffrey Tambor post-tag:jeffrey-tambor Judd Apatow post-tag:judd-apatow Sarah Silverman post-tag:sarah-silverman The Automat post-tag:the-automat The Larry Sanders Show post-tag:the-larry-sanders-show What to Watch on IFC post-tag:what-to-watch-on-ifc type:show show:the-larry-sanders-show on-ifc type:primary-category primary-category:on-ifc /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4934/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4934-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/11/welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show Welcome to the Automat: The Larry Sanders Show type:title title:welcome-to-the-automat-the-larry-sanders-show articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc Andy Dick type:post-tag post-tag:andy-dick Bob Odenkirk post-tag:bob-odenkirk Garry Shandling post-tag:garry-shandling Jeffrey Tambor post-tag:jeffrey-tambor Judd Apatow post-tag:judd-apatow Sarah Silverman post-tag:sarah-silverman The Automat post-tag:the-automat The Larry Sanders Show post-tag:the-larry-sanders-show What to Watch on IFC post-tag:what-to-watch-on-ifc type:show show:the-larry-sanders-show on-ifc type:primary-category primary-category:on-ifc /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4934/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4934-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.