S

The Coen Brothers’ movies in order

millers-crossing-hit

In which we attempt the impossible: To rank the incredible films of the Coen Brothers.

Let’s be honest: when it comes to movies by Joel and Ethan Coens, there are no losers. Over the last (almost) three decades, the dynamic duo known as the Coen Brothers have crafted some of the most memorable, most quotable, funniest, strangest, darkest, and generally greatest movies. Their films are typically evocative of simpler times while creating complex stories filled with indelible characters range from the sublime “The Dude” to the creepy motorcycle riding maniacal momma’s boy in “Raising Arizona.” These remarkable characters are cast from a steady stable of venerable actors like George Clooney, John Turturro, Francis McDormand, John Goodman, Jeff Bridges, Steve Buscemi, and many more willing to put on a fake mustache, prosthetic limb, unnecessary eye patch, or incredibly bad haircut (Javier Bardem has never looked worse than in “No Country For Old Men”) in order to enter the weird and wonderful of the Coen Brothers. And who wouldn’t jump at a chance to star in one of their viciously funny, hilariously blood-soaked, funny, witty, and clever films? The Coen Brothers make amazing movies, bar none.

In honor of “Miller’s Crossing” airing today at 3:30 p.m. ET, we’re attempting the impossible and we’re going to rank the Coen Brothers. God help us.

Here are the Coen Brothers’ movies, in order. Feel free to argue:

“The Ladykillers” (2004)

“Intolerable Cruelty” (2003)

“The Man Who Wasn’t There” (2001)

“A Serious Man” (2009)

“Burn After Reading” (2008)

“Blood Simple” (1984)

“Barton Fink” (1991)

“The Hudsucker Proxy” (1994)

“O Brother, Where Art Thou?” (2000)

“True Grit” (2010)

“Miller’s Crossing” (1990)

“The Big Lebowski” (1998)

“No Country for Old Men” (2007)

“Fargo” (1996)

“Raising Arizona” (1987)

Want the latest news from IFC? Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter @ifctv.

“Miller’s Crossing” airs today at 3:30 PM ET

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order The Coen Brothers’ movies in order type:title title:the-coen-brothers-8217-movies-in-order articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc A Serious Man type:post-tag post-tag:a-serious-man Blood Simple post-tag:blood-simple Burn After Reading post-tag:burn-after-reading Coen Brothers post-tag:coen-brothers Ethan Coen post-tag:ethan-coen Fargo post-tag:fargo Gabriel Byrne post-tag:gabriel-byrne Intolerable Cruelty post-tag:intolerable-cruelty Joel Coen post-tag:joel-coen Miller's Crossing post-tag:miller-s-crossing No Country for Old Men post-tag:no-country-for-old-men O Brother Where Are Thou post-tag:o-brother-where-are-thou Raising Arizona post-tag:raising-arizona The Big Lebowski post-tag:the-big-lebowski The Ladykillers post-tag:the-ladykillers The Man Who Wasn't There post-tag:the-man-who-wasn-t-there True Grit post-tag:true-grit on-ifc type:primary-category primary-category:on-ifc /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4885/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4885-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2012/09/the-coen-brothers-movies-in-order The Coen Brothers’ movies in order type:title title:the-coen-brothers-8217-movies-in-order articles type:post-type post-type:articles mlocker type:author author:mlocker On IFC type:category category:on-ifc A Serious Man type:post-tag post-tag:a-serious-man Blood Simple post-tag:blood-simple Burn After Reading post-tag:burn-after-reading Coen Brothers post-tag:coen-brothers Ethan Coen post-tag:ethan-coen Fargo post-tag:fargo Gabriel Byrne post-tag:gabriel-byrne Intolerable Cruelty post-tag:intolerable-cruelty Joel Coen post-tag:joel-coen Miller's Crossing post-tag:miller-s-crossing No Country for Old Men post-tag:no-country-for-old-men O Brother Where Are Thou post-tag:o-brother-where-are-thou Raising Arizona post-tag:raising-arizona The Big Lebowski post-tag:the-big-lebowski The Ladykillers post-tag:the-ladykillers The Man Who Wasn't There post-tag:the-man-who-wasn-t-there True Grit post-tag:true-grit on-ifc type:primary-category primary-category:on-ifc /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4885/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4885-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.