“Like Crazy” Tops Sundance Award Winners

"Like Crazy" Tops Sundance Award Winners (photo)

The Anton Yelchin/Felicity Jones romantic drama came away with tons of hardware to end this year's festival in Park City.

After an unprecedented year for sales and a year that longtime trade critic Todd McCarthy said was the best Sundance he’s ever been to, this year’s winners of the Sundance Film Festival were announced this evening, with many of the prize winners like recent Paramount acquisition “Like Crazy,” a romantic drama starring Anton Yelchin and Felicity Jones (who also picked up a special jury prize), and Fox Searchlight pickups “Martha Marcy May Marlene” and “Another Earth” coming soon to a theater near you. Without much ado, the winners are here:

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Drama: “Like Crazy,” directed by Drake Doremus

Grand Jury Prize, U.S. Documentary: “How To Die in Oregon,” directed by Peter D. Richardson

Directing Award, Dramatic: Sean Durkin, “Martha Marcy May Marlene”

Directing Award, U.S. Documentary: Jon Foy, “Resurrect Dead: The Mystery of the Toynbee Tiles”

Waldo Salt Screenwriting Award: Sam Levinson, “Another Happy Day”

(Note: Levinson, son of Barry, had the acceptance speech of the night with the emotions spilling out of him as he said, “When I introduce the film I cry, so I don’t know what the fuck’s going to happen now.”)

U.S. Documentary Editing Award: Matthew Hamachek and Marshall Curry, “If A Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front”

Special Jury Prize for Dramatic Film: Mike Cahill and Brit Marling, “Another Earth”

Excellence in Cinematography, U.S. Dramatic Film: Bradford Young, “Pariah”

Excellence in Cinematography, Documentary: Ryan Hill, Peter Hutchens, Eric Strauss, “The Redemption of General Butt Naked”

Special Jury Prize, Acting, Dramatic Competition: Felicity Jones, “Like Crazy”

Special Jury Prize, Documentary: “Being Elmo: A Puppeteer’s Journey,” directed by Constance Marks

U.S. Audience Award, Dramatic: “Circumstance,” directed by Maryam Keshavarz

U.S. Audience Award, Documentary: “Buck,” directed by Cindy Meehl

World Cinema Audience Award, Documentary: “Senna,” directed by Asif Kapadia

World Cinema Dramatic Award: “Kinyarwanda,” directed by Alrick Brown

Best of NEXT: “to.get.her,” directed by Erica Dunton

World Cinema Documentary Special Jury Prize: “Position Among the Stars,” directed by Leonard Retel Helmrich

World Cinema Documentary Award: “Project Nim,” directed by James Marsh

World Cinema Documentary Award: “The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975,” directed by Göran Olsson

World Cinematography Award, Dramatic: Diego Jiminez, “All Your Dead Ones”

World Cinema Grand Jury Prize: “Happy Happy,” directed by Sykt Lykkelig

World Cinema Dramatic Directing Award: Paddy Considine, “Tyrannosaur”

World Cinema Screenwriting Award: Erez Kav-El for “Restoration”

World Cinema, Grand Jury Prize: “Hell and Back Again,” directed by Danfung Dennis

World Cinema, Special Jury Prize: Olivia Colman and Peter Mullen for “Tyrannosaur”

All of our Sundance 2011 coverage can be found here.


Powered by ZergNet

AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.