S

Movie Medium, Game Logic

Movie Medium, Game Logic (photo)

On how game culture and logic have seeped into film, from "Scott Pilgrim" to "Gamer" to "Run Lola Run."

Video game to movie adaptations have always struggled, but that doesn’t mean that games and cinema don’t successfully overlap all the time. This week’s IFC News podcast discusses how game culture and logic have seeped into film, from the battles and extra lives of “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World” to the avatar dystopia of “Gamer” to the surreal critique of “eXistenZ.”

This week’s keyword game giveaway is a DVD of Noboru Iguchi’s “The Machine Girl.”

Tags: , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic Movie Medium, Game Logic type:title title:movie-medium-game-logic articles type:post-type post-type:articles Alison Willmore type:author author:alison-willmore Movies type:category category:movies Podcasts category:podcasts Aeon Flux type:post-tag post-tag:aeon-flux Edgar Wright post-tag:edgar-wright Gamer post-tag:gamer Inception post-tag:inception podcasts post-tag:podcasts Run Lola Run post-tag:run-lola-run Scott Pilgrim vs. The World post-tag:scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world Videogames post-tag:videogames /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5085/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5085-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/08/movie-medium-game-logic Movie Medium, Game Logic type:title title:movie-medium-game-logic articles type:post-type post-type:articles Alison Willmore type:author author:alison-willmore Movies type:category category:movies Podcasts category:podcasts Aeon Flux type:post-tag post-tag:aeon-flux Edgar Wright post-tag:edgar-wright Gamer post-tag:gamer Inception post-tag:inception podcasts post-tag:podcasts Run Lola Run post-tag:run-lola-run Scott Pilgrim vs. The World post-tag:scott-pilgrim-vs-the-world Videogames post-tag:videogames /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5085/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5085-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.