S

IFC at SXSW 2014

maron-talking-dead Maron Takes You Behind-the-Scenes of Talking Dead dan-savage-homme Dan Savage Could Have Saved Fred and Carrie From Their “Disappointing Gay Man” Problem patton-scott-clip-2 Patton Oswalt Talks About Auditioning for Star Wars on Comedy Bang! Bang! eddie-vedder-portlandia-fix 10 Funniest Rock Star Cameos on Portlandia

The big winner at SXSW is “Tiny.”

The big winner at SXSW is "Tiny." (photo)

It was awards night at SXSW this evening where comedian Eugene Mirman presided over the announcement of this year's Jury and Audience Awards of the narrative, documentary and shorts competitions. While we'll have to wait until March 22nd to learn who picked up audience prizes in the Spotlight Premieres, Emerging Visions, Lone Star States, 24 Beats Per Second and Midnighters sections, here are this year's big winners in the other categories: Best Narrative Feature Winner: "Tiny Furniture" (Director: Lena Dunham; read our review here.) Best Documentary Feature Winner: "Marwencol" (Director: Jeff Malmberg; read our review here.) Runner-up: "War Don Don" (Director: Rebecca Richman Cohen) Special Jury Awards Best Ensemble: "Myth of the American Sleepover" Best Individual Performance: Brian Hasenfus in "Phillip the Fossil" Audience Awards Documentary Feature: "For Once in My Life" (Directors: Jim Bigham and Mark Moormann) Narrative Feature: "Brotherhood" (Director: Will Canon) Narrative Shorts Winner: "Cigarette Candy" (Director:...

It was awards night at SXSW this evening where comedian Eugene Mirman presided over the announcement of this year’s Jury and Audience Awards of the narrative, documentary and shorts competitions. While we’ll have to wait until March 22nd to learn who picked up audience prizes in the Spotlight Premieres, Emerging Visions, Lone Star States, 24 Beats Per Second and Midnighters sections, here are this year’s big winners in the other categories:

Best Narrative Feature
Winner: “Tiny Furniture” (Director: Lena Dunham; read our review here.)

Best Documentary Feature
Winner: “Marwencol” (Director: Jeff Malmberg; read our review here.)
Runner-up: “War Don Don” (Director: Rebecca Richman Cohen)

Special Jury Awards
Best Ensemble: “Myth of the American Sleepover”
Best Individual Performance: Brian Hasenfus in “Phillip the Fossil”

Audience Awards
Documentary Feature: “For Once in My Life” (Directors: Jim Bigham and Mark Moormann)
Narrative Feature: “Brotherhood” (Director: Will Canon)

Narrative Shorts
Winner: “Cigarette Candy” (Director: Lauren Wolkstein)
Runner-up: “Teleglobal Dreamin’” (Director: Eric Flanagan)

Documentary Shorts
Winner: “Quadrangle” (Director: Amy Grappell)
Runner-up: “White Lines and The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug” (Director: Travis Senger)

Animated Shorts
Winner: “The Orange” (Director: Nick Fox-Gieg)
Runner-up: “One Square Mile of Earth” (Director: Jeff Drew)

Experimental Shorts
Winner: “Night Mayor” (Director: Guy Maddin)
Runner-up: “Kids Might Fly” (Director: Alex Taylor)

Music Videos
Winner: Cinnamon Chasers, “Luv Deluxe” (Director: Saman Keshavarz)
Runner-up: Grizzly Bear, “Forest” (Director: Allison Schulnik)

Texas Shorts
Winner: “Petting Sharks” (Director: Craig Elrod)
Runner-up: “The Big Bends” (Director: Jason William Marlow)

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW Wholphin Winner: Quadrangle Director: Amy Grappell
SXSW Chicken & Egg Emergent Narrative Woman Director Award Winner: Lena Dunham for “Tiny Furniture”
Special Award – The Chicken & Egg Pictures “We Believe in You” Award: Martha Stephens for “Passenger Pigeons”

SXSW Film Design Awards

Excellence in Poster Design
Winner: “Feeder” (Designer: Joseph Ernst)
Runner-up: “Amer” (Designer: Gilles Vranckx)
Audience Award Winner: “Richard Garriott: Man on a Mission” (Designer: Michael Anderson)
Special Jury Award: “Equestrian Sexual Response” (Designers: Martim Vian & Zeke Hawkins)

Excellence in Title Design
Winner: “Zombieland” (Designer: Ben Conrad)
Runner-up: “earthwork” (Designer: Stan Herd)

Audience Award Winner: “earthwork” (Designer: Stan Herd)
Special Jury Award: “Enter the Void” (Designer: Gaspar NoĆ© and Tom Kam)

[Photo: David Call and Lena Dunham in "Tiny Furniture," Tiny Ponies, 2010]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti The big winner at SXSW is “Tiny.” type:title title:the-big-winner-at-sxsw-is-8220-tiny-8221 articles type:post-type post-type:articles Stephen Saito type:author author:stephen-saito Movies type:category category:movies Alex Taylor type:post-tag post-tag:alex-taylor Amy Grappell post-tag:amy-grappell Brian Hasenfus post-tag:brian-hasenfus Brotherhood post-tag:brotherhood Cigarette Candy post-tag:cigarette-candy Eric Flanagan post-tag:eric-flanagan For Once in My Life post-tag:for-once-in-my-life Guy Maddin post-tag:guy-maddin Jeff Drew post-tag:jeff-drew Jeff Malmberg post-tag:jeff-malmberg Jim Bigham post-tag:jim-bigham Kids Might Fly post-tag:kids-might-fly Lauren Wolkstein post-tag:lauren-wolkstein Lena Dunham. post-tag:lena-dunham Mark Moormann post-tag:mark-moormann Marwencol post-tag:marwencol Myth of the American Sleepover post-tag:myth-of-the-american-sleepover Nick Fox-Gieg post-tag:nick-fox-gieg Night Mayor post-tag:night-mayor One Square Mile of Earth post-tag:one-square-mile-of-earth Phillip the Fossil post-tag:phillip-the-fossil Quadrangle post-tag:quadrangle Rebecca Richman Cohen post-tag:rebecca-richman-cohen SXSW post-tag:sxsw SXSW 2010 post-tag:sxsw-2010 SXSW FILM post-tag:sxsw-film Teleglobal Dreamin' post-tag:teleglobal-dreamin The Orange post-tag:the-orange Tiny Furniture post-tag:tiny-furniture Travis Senger post-tag:travis-senger War Don Don post-tag:war-don-don White Lines and The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug post-tag:white-lines-and-the-fever-the-death-of-dj-junebug Will Canon post-tag:will-canon /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r3831/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r3831-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/the-big-winners-at-sxsw-are-ti The big winner at SXSW is “Tiny.” type:title title:the-big-winner-at-sxsw-is-8220-tiny-8221 articles type:post-type post-type:articles Stephen Saito type:author author:stephen-saito Movies type:category category:movies Alex Taylor type:post-tag post-tag:alex-taylor Amy Grappell post-tag:amy-grappell Brian Hasenfus post-tag:brian-hasenfus Brotherhood post-tag:brotherhood Cigarette Candy post-tag:cigarette-candy Eric Flanagan post-tag:eric-flanagan For Once in My Life post-tag:for-once-in-my-life Guy Maddin post-tag:guy-maddin Jeff Drew post-tag:jeff-drew Jeff Malmberg post-tag:jeff-malmberg Jim Bigham post-tag:jim-bigham Kids Might Fly post-tag:kids-might-fly Lauren Wolkstein post-tag:lauren-wolkstein Lena Dunham. post-tag:lena-dunham Mark Moormann post-tag:mark-moormann Marwencol post-tag:marwencol Myth of the American Sleepover post-tag:myth-of-the-american-sleepover Nick Fox-Gieg post-tag:nick-fox-gieg Night Mayor post-tag:night-mayor One Square Mile of Earth post-tag:one-square-mile-of-earth Phillip the Fossil post-tag:phillip-the-fossil Quadrangle post-tag:quadrangle Rebecca Richman Cohen post-tag:rebecca-richman-cohen SXSW post-tag:sxsw SXSW 2010 post-tag:sxsw-2010 SXSW FILM post-tag:sxsw-film Teleglobal Dreamin' post-tag:teleglobal-dreamin The Orange post-tag:the-orange Tiny Furniture post-tag:tiny-furniture Travis Senger post-tag:travis-senger War Don Don post-tag:war-don-don White Lines and The Fever: The Death of DJ Junebug post-tag:white-lines-and-the-fever-the-death-of-dj-junebug Will Canon post-tag:will-canon /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r3831/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r3831-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
Rainbow Media AMC IFC SundanceTV WE tv IFC Entertainment