S
bill-burr-advice 9 Things That Seriously Tick Off Bill Burr marc-maron-seth-meyers Marc Maron Talks About Fueling His Rage on Late Night tacky-weird-al Weird Al’s “Tacky” Is the Song of the Summer josh-groban-hilarious 7 Videos That Prove Josh Groban Is Hilarious

Seven actors who deserve better.

Seven actors who deserve better. (photo)

We've all had this experience before -- you go to a movie and an actor you've never heard of totally blows you away. You expect to see more of him or her, then years go by and you see the movie again on TV and realize you have no idea what happened. (Like, say, almost everyone in "Dazed and Confused.") This happens all too often -- here's a just-barely-scratching-the-surface list of seven performers of recent years who deserve better than their current career purgatories.Paul Bettany For a little while, Paul Bettany's career was going in a direction that made sense. He played straight man to Russell Crowe in "A Beautiful Mind" and "Master and Commander: The End of the World." They had an easy, unforced chemistry that suggested years of companionship. Meanwhile, on his, own, Bettany entered the American cinema naked in "A Knight's Tale" and was suitably supercilious in...

We’ve all had this experience before — you go to a movie and an actor you’ve never heard of totally blows you away.

You expect to see more of him or her, then years go by and you see the movie again on TV and realize you have no idea what happened. (Like, say, almost everyone in “Dazed and Confused.”) This happens all too often — here’s a just-barely-scratching-the-surface list of seven performers of recent years who deserve better than their current career purgatories.

03222010_master.jpgPaul Bettany

For a little while, Paul Bettany‘s career was going in a direction that made sense. He played straight man to Russell Crowe in “A Beautiful Mind” and “Master and Commander: The End of the World.” They had an easy, unforced chemistry that suggested years of companionship. Meanwhile, on his, own, Bettany entered the American cinema naked in “A Knight’s Tale” and was suitably supercilious in “Dogville.” But for some reason, shortly thereafter Bettany’s career went to hell — January 22 saw the simultaneous release of “Creation” (about Darwin) and “Legion” (theologically fuzzy archangel brawl), two equally defective sides of the religious debate. Next down: “Priest,” with Bettany tracking down vampires. Lesson learned: dramatic failure equals semi-religious fanboy resurrection?

03222010_heathers.jpgWinona Ryder

Once, Winona Ryder made a tacit deal with the American public to be the go-to alterna-chick, embodying all layers of the high-school strata from pissed-off goth (“Beetlejuice”) to perky cheerleader queen (“Edward Scissorhands”), with stops at “Heathers” and “Mermaids.” She also tried to sum up Gen X’s ambivalence in “Reality Bites” and auditioned with Salinger monologues; she was alienated slacker America. Eventually she drifted from weak, personality-suppressing parts (“Mr. Deeds”) to non-entity indies (“The Darwin Awards”). Despite a strong turn in “A Scanner Darkly,” her cameo as Spock’s mom in “Star Trek” was mostly disorienting. That Darren Aronofsky promises to do (with the upcoming “Black Swan”) for her what he did for Mickey Rourke’s career speaks volumes about how fast she fell, and how unjustifiably.

03222010_enid.jpgThora Birch

Like fellow “American Beauty” co-stars Wes Bentley and Mena Suvari, Birch’s rise and fall from prominence went by shockingly fast (though at least, unlike Bentley, she didn’t succumb to crippling heroin use). Dark and poised, Birch’s flawlessly bratty turn in “Ghost World” should’ve assured her place on the A-list. Instead, she ended up in “Dungeons & Dragons” and has appeared in two Lifetime movies. (One possible reason for her career problems: her dad, who… well, just read it.) Her appearance in the 2002 Moby video below (“We Are All Made of Stars”) reminds us of a time when people could recognize Kato Kaelin on sight, and Thora Birch was right on par. But hey, Dave Navarro’s still with us!

03222010_lyle.jpgThomas Haden Church

Long-suffering comic trooper Thomas Haden Church has been doing yeomen work for a long time now — six years on the sitcom “Wings,” consistent hilarity regardless of how shoddy the vehicle (“George of the Jungle,” “All About Steve,” “Imagine That”), injecting real pathos and humanity into places where it was unwelcome (“Spider-Man 3″). He’s even briefly done the awards-season comeback/reinvention (“Sideways”). Despite this, it seems that Church’s mellow but surprisingly versatile overgrown-blowhard act — Ron Burgundy without the non sequiturs — keeps getting written off as not that valuable. But he’s the real thing and deserves better — let’s see if his starring turn in drama “Don McKay,” due out next month, will do anything for him.

0322010_ophelia.jpgJulia Stiles

The formidably severe Julia Stiles co-starred alongside Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Heath Ledger in 1999′s “10 Things I Hate About You,” an effective above-average teen movie; both would eventually surpass her, which isn’t fair. Stiles knows how to be funny without ever breaking her frown, an asset that served her well; whether drunk booty-dancing or embodying Ophelia in the 2000 “Hamlet,” it worked. (That her dream in “10 Things” was to go to Sarah Lawrence was right on.) Then what (“Save The Last Dance” aside)? A series of uncomfortable romantic movies — “Mona Lisa Smile,” “The Prince & Me,” “A Guy Thing” — and undistinguished “Bourne” supporting parts. That said, casting her as the lead in an upcoming “The Bell Jar” adaptation makes sense — sadly, since it’s effectively a caricature of her range.

03222010_italianjob.jpgSeth Green

In some ways, Seth Green’s career thrives — he created “Robot Chicken” and is the voice of “Family Guy”‘s Chris Griffen, thereby assuring himself a firm place in the consciousness of stoners anywhere. Indeed, with his parts in the “Austin Powers” films and on TV’s “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” Green’s well known to the two split halves of a generation. But — despite a terrific supporting turn in the worth-watching “Can’t Hardly Wait” and a credible sub-”Ocean’s” turn in “The Italian Job” — Green’s increasingly sporadic ventures into live-action film are unfailingly dismal (“Without a Paddle,” the “Scooby-Doo” movies, “Sex Drive” and, most recently, “Old Dogs”). Live-wire supporting comics aren’t as plentiful as they seem — and Green, with his running start in “Radio Days,” should’ve been a shoe-in.

03222010_laurabush.jpgElizabeth Banks

Though Elizabeth Banks is seemingly a generically pretty blond, to be slotted alongside Katherine Heigl, she’s got a distinctive personality — she played both Laura Bush and Paul Rudd’s long-suffering girlfriend (“Role Models”) in the same year, which are two different kinds of masochism that she successfully differentiated. But more commonly she’s stuck playing the boring blond, a waste of sharp timing that can be successfully applied to comedy or drama. Her comedic abilities seem thought-out rather than instinctual, and that can be an asset (as when outdoing Seth Rogen in “Zack and Miri Make a Porno”).

[Photos: "Dazed and Confused," Universal, 1993; "Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World," 20th Century Fox, 2003; "Heaters," Anchor Bay Entertainment, 1988; "Ghost World," MGM/UA, 2001; "Hamlet," Miramax, 2000; "The Italian Job," Paramount, 2003; "W.," Lionsgate, 2008]

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve Seven actors who deserve better. type:title title:seven-actors-who-deserve-better articles type:post-type post-type:articles Vadim Rizov type:author author:vadim-rizov Movies type:category category:movies 10 Things I Hate About You type:post-tag post-tag:10-things-i-hate-about-you A Beautiful Mind post-tag:a-beautiful-mind A Guy Thing post-tag:a-guy-thing A Knight's Tale post-tag:a-knight-s-tale A Scanner Darkly post-tag:a-scanner-darkly All About Steve post-tag:all-about-steve American Beauty post-tag:american-beauty Austin Powers post-tag:austin-powers Beetlejuice post-tag:beetlejuice Black Swan post-tag:black-swan Buffy the Vampire Slayer post-tag:buffy-the-vampire-slayer Can't Hardly Wait post-tag:can-t-hardly-wait Creation post-tag:creation Darren Aronofsky post-tag:darren-aronofsky Dave Navarro post-tag:dave-navarro Dazed and Confused post-tag:dazed-and-confused Dogville post-tag:dogville Dungeons & Dragons post-tag:dungeons-amp-dragons Edward Scissorhands post-tag:edward-scissorhands Elizabeth Banks post-tag:elizabeth-banks Family Guy post-tag:family-guy George of the Jungle post-tag:george-of-the-jungle Ghost World post-tag:ghost-world Heath Ledger post-tag:heath-ledger Heathers post-tag:heathers Imagine That post-tag:imagine-that J.D. Salinger post-tag:j-d-salinger Joseph Gordon-Levitt post-tag:joseph-gordon-levitt Julia Stiles post-tag:julia-stiles Kato Kaelin post-tag:kato-kaelin Legion post-tag:legion Master and Commander: The End of the World post-tag:master-and-commander-the-end-of-the-world Mena Suvari post-tag:mena-suvari Mermaids post-tag:mermaids Mickey Rourke post-tag:mickey-rourke Moby post-tag:moby Mona Lisa Smile post-tag:mona-lisa-smile Mr. Deeds post-tag:mr-deeds Old Dogs post-tag:old-dogs Paul Bettany post-tag:paul-bettany Paul Rudd post-tag:paul-rudd Priest post-tag:priest Reality Bites post-tag:reality-bites Robot Chicken post-tag:robot-chicken Role Models post-tag:role-models Russell Crowe post-tag:russell-crowe Save The Last Dance post-tag:save-the-last-dance Scooby-Doo post-tag:scooby-doo Seth Green post-tag:seth-green Seth Rogen post-tag:seth-rogen Sex Drive post-tag:sex-drive Sideways post-tag:sideways Spider-Man 3 post-tag:spider-man-3 The Darwin Awards post-tag:the-darwin-awards The Italian Job post-tag:the-italian-job The Prince & Me post-tag:the-prince-amp-me Thomas Haden Church post-tag:thomas-haden-church Thora Birch post-tag:thora-birch Wes Bentley post-tag:wes-bentley Wings post-tag:wings Winona Ryder post-tag:winona-ryder Without A Paddle post-tag:without-a-paddle Zack and Miri Make A Porno post-tag:zack-and-miri-make-a-porno /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4724/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4724-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2010/03/deserve Seven actors who deserve better. type:title title:seven-actors-who-deserve-better articles type:post-type post-type:articles Vadim Rizov type:author author:vadim-rizov Movies type:category category:movies 10 Things I Hate About You type:post-tag post-tag:10-things-i-hate-about-you A Beautiful Mind post-tag:a-beautiful-mind A Guy Thing post-tag:a-guy-thing A Knight's Tale post-tag:a-knight-s-tale A Scanner Darkly post-tag:a-scanner-darkly All About Steve post-tag:all-about-steve American Beauty post-tag:american-beauty Austin Powers post-tag:austin-powers Beetlejuice post-tag:beetlejuice Black Swan post-tag:black-swan Buffy the Vampire Slayer post-tag:buffy-the-vampire-slayer Can't Hardly Wait post-tag:can-t-hardly-wait Creation post-tag:creation Darren Aronofsky post-tag:darren-aronofsky Dave Navarro post-tag:dave-navarro Dazed and Confused post-tag:dazed-and-confused Dogville post-tag:dogville Dungeons & Dragons post-tag:dungeons-amp-dragons Edward Scissorhands post-tag:edward-scissorhands Elizabeth Banks post-tag:elizabeth-banks Family Guy post-tag:family-guy George of the Jungle post-tag:george-of-the-jungle Ghost World post-tag:ghost-world Heath Ledger post-tag:heath-ledger Heathers post-tag:heathers Imagine That post-tag:imagine-that J.D. Salinger post-tag:j-d-salinger Joseph Gordon-Levitt post-tag:joseph-gordon-levitt Julia Stiles post-tag:julia-stiles Kato Kaelin post-tag:kato-kaelin Legion post-tag:legion Master and Commander: The End of the World post-tag:master-and-commander-the-end-of-the-world Mena Suvari post-tag:mena-suvari Mermaids post-tag:mermaids Mickey Rourke post-tag:mickey-rourke Moby post-tag:moby Mona Lisa Smile post-tag:mona-lisa-smile Mr. Deeds post-tag:mr-deeds Old Dogs post-tag:old-dogs Paul Bettany post-tag:paul-bettany Paul Rudd post-tag:paul-rudd Priest post-tag:priest Reality Bites post-tag:reality-bites Robot Chicken post-tag:robot-chicken Role Models post-tag:role-models Russell Crowe post-tag:russell-crowe Save The Last Dance post-tag:save-the-last-dance Scooby-Doo post-tag:scooby-doo Seth Green post-tag:seth-green Seth Rogen post-tag:seth-rogen Sex Drive post-tag:sex-drive Sideways post-tag:sideways Spider-Man 3 post-tag:spider-man-3 The Darwin Awards post-tag:the-darwin-awards The Italian Job post-tag:the-italian-job The Prince & Me post-tag:the-prince-amp-me Thomas Haden Church post-tag:thomas-haden-church Thora Birch post-tag:thora-birch Wes Bentley post-tag:wes-bentley Wings post-tag:wings Winona Ryder post-tag:winona-ryder Without A Paddle post-tag:without-a-paddle Zack and Miri Make A Porno post-tag:zack-and-miri-make-a-porno /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r4724/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r4724-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.