S

Blowing the Whistle on Whistleblower Movies

Blowing the Whistle on Whistleblower Movies (photo)

Covert meetings, threats, weight gain and other clichés from films about corporate takedowns.

The covert meetings in hallways and parking garages, the warning threats, the for-the-role weight gain, the righteous speechifying — Steven Soderbergh mocks all of these standbys of the whistleblower movie in his new comedy “The Informant!” Inspired, on this week’s IFC News podcast we take a closer look at some of those clichés and the films that best embody them, from “The Insider” to Soderbergh’s own “Erin Brockovich.”

Download: MP3, 40:31 minutes, 37.1 MB

Subscribe to the podcast: [iTunes] [XML]

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies Blowing the Whistle on Whistleblower Movies type:title title:blowing-the-whistle-on-whistleblower-movies articles type:post-type post-type:articles Alison Willmore type:author author:alison-willmore Podcasts type:category category:podcasts All the President's Men type:post-tag post-tag:all-the-president-s-men Erin Brockovich post-tag:erin-brockovich George Clooney post-tag:george-clooney Russell Crowe post-tag:russell-crowe Steven Soderbergh post-tag:steven-soderbergh Syriana post-tag:syriana The Constant Gardener post-tag:the-constant-gardener The Informant! post-tag:the-informant The Insider post-tag:the-insider /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5085/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5085-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/09/whistleblower-movies Blowing the Whistle on Whistleblower Movies type:title title:blowing-the-whistle-on-whistleblower-movies articles type:post-type post-type:articles Alison Willmore type:author author:alison-willmore Podcasts type:category category:podcasts All the President's Men type:post-tag post-tag:all-the-president-s-men Erin Brockovich post-tag:erin-brockovich George Clooney post-tag:george-clooney Russell Crowe post-tag:russell-crowe Steven Soderbergh post-tag:steven-soderbergh Syriana post-tag:syriana The Constant Gardener post-tag:the-constant-gardener The Informant! post-tag:the-informant The Insider post-tag:the-insider /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5085/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5085-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.