S

Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!, The Movie

Even though a Mike Tyson documentary, Tyson, was just released last week, and Jamie Foxx is currently promoting his film, The Soloist, there is already talk of the multi-faceted actor portraying Iron Mike in an upcoming biopic....

Even though a Mike Tyson documentary, Tyson, was just released last week, and Jamie Foxx is currently promoting his film, The Soloist, there is already talk of the multi-faceted actor portraying Iron Mike in an upcoming biopic.

P{unch OUt copy.jpg
Apparently Tyson has even made public that he would love to have Foxx play him in a film about his life story.

When we say the “multi-faceted” Jamie Foxx, we’re not kidding around, because he is also promoting his most recent album, Intuition, which boasts the club hit, “Blame It.”

With all this talk of Foxx getting into the mindset of Mike Tyson, I’m thinking film writers and producers should skip the Tyson saga we’ve heard a million times before–especially all the drama surrounding Robin Givens, Buster Douglas, Don King, and Evander Holyfield–and make a movie about one of the greatest video games of all-time: Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!

If Foxx can weave in and out of movies and music, who’s to say our favorite musicians can’t do the same, huh?

So here’s a list of artists that should be in Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!, The Movie:

1. Britt Daniel (Spoon) as Glass Joe
I’m not saying Britt Daniel has a glass jaw, but his thin frame and reddish hair make him an ideal Glass Joe. Spoon’s song “The Underdog” would also be perfect for the film’s soundtrack.

2. A.C. Newman (The New Pornographers) as Von Kaiser
If A.C. Newman shaved his beard and grew out a handlebar mustache, I think he’d look exactly like Von Kaiser. Now we just have to get the Canadian to work on his German accent.

3. Mike Herrera (MxPx) as Piston Honda
I don’t know? I just think MxPx’s Mike Herrera could pull off a good Piston Honda.

4. Guy Picciotto (Fugazi) as Don Flamenco
Not only does Guy Picciotto have a Don Flamenco-like nose, but he has video game character experience as well. Apparently, he was the inspiration for Guy in Street Fighter.

5. Frank Black (Pixies) as King Hippo
Kim Deal will be on set coordinating the fight scene between Little Mac and King Hippo. Like Nintendo Fan Club Magazine used to suggest: When he opens his mouth, hit him in the face. You gotta think that has happened on a few Pixies tours.

6. Snoop Dogg as Great Tiger
Snoop Dogg brings major motion picture experience with him. This could very well be his breakout role. I’m smelling Oscar for Best Supporting Actor.

7. Fat Joe as Bald Bull
The hit song “Lean Back” will be used after Bald Bull gets punched in the stomach after initiating his bull charge uppercut. (We’re hoping Fat Joe can bug out his eyes just like Bald Bull’s video game character.)

8. Lemmy Kilmister (Motorhead) as Soda Popinski
The fu manchu and the non-stop drinking made it an obvious choice.

9. Murs as Mr. Sandman
Murs doesn’t resemble Mr. Sandman at all, but he does have the greatest Punch-Out!! inspired music video of all time,”Murray’s Revenge”, so we thought he deserved to be in the film.

10. Nick Cave (Bad Seeds) as Super Macho Man
You don’t necessarily think “macho” when you bring up Nick Cave’s name, but his slicked back hairstyle is reminiscent of Super Macho Man’s mane. And just having Cave in this film gives it major indie cred!

11. Jamie Foxx as Mike Tyson
His interest in the role of playing Mike Tyson is what started this whole discussion.

12. Brandon Flowers (The Killers) as Little Mac
I’m still convinced that the only reason The Killers aren’t the biggest band on the planet is because they’re still somewhat awkward during interviews. If Brandon Flowers could prove to the world–especially to mainstream folk in the U.S.–that he is more than a reclusive rock star, The Killers would sell 10 million more albums (that’s my Mike Tyson’s Punch Out!! guarantee).

13. Joseph Simmons (Run DMC) as Doc
If Run doesn’t want to do it, I may allow a non-musical actor to portray Little Mac’s trainer. Reginald VelJohnson–the dad from Family Matters–seems like he’d be perfect for the role.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Powered by ZergNet

http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!, The Movie type:title title:mike-tyson-8217-s-punch-out-the-movie articles type:post-type post-type:articles Jim Shearer type:author author:jim-shearer Music type:category category:music A.C. Newman type:post-tag post-tag:a-c-newman Bald Bull post-tag:bald-bull Brandon Flowers post-tag:brandon-flowers Britt Daniel post-tag:britt-daniel Doc post-tag:doc Don Flamenco post-tag:don-flamenco Fat Joe post-tag:fat-joe Frank Black post-tag:frank-black Glass Joe post-tag:glass-joe Great Tiger post-tag:great-tiger Joseph Simmons post-tag:joseph-simmons King Hippo post-tag:king-hippo Lemmy Kilmister post-tag:lemmy-kilmister Little Mac post-tag:little-mac Mike Herrera post-tag:mike-herrera Mike Tyson's Punch-Out!! post-tag:mike-tyson-s-punch-out Motorhead post-tag:motorhead Mr. Sandman post-tag:mr-sandman Murs post-tag:murs MxPx post-tag:mxpx Nick Cave post-tag:nick-cave Piston honda post-tag:piston-honda Reginald VelJohnson post-tag:reginald-veljohnson Run-DMC post-tag:run-dmc Snoop Dogg post-tag:snoop-dogg Soda Popinski post-tag:soda-popinski Spoon post-tag:spoon Super Macho Man post-tag:super-macho-man The Killers post-tag:the-killers The New Pornographers post-tag:the-new-pornographers The Pixies post-tag:the-pixies Tyson post-tag:tyson Von Kaiser post-tag:von-kaiser /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5060/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5060-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
  • Newest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi reverseChronological
  • Oldest
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi chronological
  • Most Replied
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi repliesDescending
  • Most Liked
    comment-stream childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi likesDescending
Comments(
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi
)
childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi childrenof:http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi type:comment -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) -source:Twitter safeHTML:aggressive children -(user.state:ModeratorBanned OR state:ModeratorDeleted,SystemFlagged,CommunityFlagged) safeHTML:aggressive http://www.ifc.com/fix/2009/04/mike-tysons-punch-out-the-movi Mike Tyson’s Punch-Out!!, The Movie type:title title:mike-tyson-8217-s-punch-out-the-movie articles type:post-type post-type:articles Jim Shearer type:author author:jim-shearer Music type:category category:music A.C. Newman type:post-tag post-tag:a-c-newman Bald Bull post-tag:bald-bull Brandon Flowers post-tag:brandon-flowers Britt Daniel post-tag:britt-daniel Doc post-tag:doc Don Flamenco post-tag:don-flamenco Fat Joe post-tag:fat-joe Frank Black post-tag:frank-black Glass Joe post-tag:glass-joe Great Tiger post-tag:great-tiger Joseph Simmons post-tag:joseph-simmons King Hippo post-tag:king-hippo Lemmy Kilmister post-tag:lemmy-kilmister Little Mac post-tag:little-mac Mike Herrera post-tag:mike-herrera Mike Tyson's Punch-Out!! post-tag:mike-tyson-s-punch-out Motorhead post-tag:motorhead Mr. Sandman post-tag:mr-sandman Murs post-tag:murs MxPx post-tag:mxpx Nick Cave post-tag:nick-cave Piston honda post-tag:piston-honda Reginald VelJohnson post-tag:reginald-veljohnson Run-DMC post-tag:run-dmc Snoop Dogg post-tag:snoop-dogg Soda Popinski post-tag:soda-popinski Spoon post-tag:spoon Super Macho Man post-tag:super-macho-man The Killers post-tag:the-killers The New Pornographers post-tag:the-new-pornographers The Pixies post-tag:the-pixies Tyson post-tag:tyson Von Kaiser post-tag:von-kaiser /media/ephemeral0/docroot/ifc.com-r5060/live/wp-content/themes/rainbow/page.php type:page-template page-template:media-ephemeral0-docroot-ifc-com-r5060-live-wp-content-themes-rainbow-page-php auto-tagged
AMC Networks AMC BBC America IFC Sundance TV WE tv IFC Films AMC Networks International
Copyright © 2014 IFC TV LLC. All rights reserved.